July 2017 - The old front windows of the Tremont House are now being removed to showcase the restored building front with it's new windows and doors. Bob Wagner (left - white jacket) and Paul Wolfe (right - green shirt) are placing their hands on the glass windows they were instrumental in installing many many years ago which is now being removed during the restoration process.

The door, sidelights, and transom for the new front of the Tremont House have been delivered and installed.  The door, custom made to be period correct, has a modern advantage:  one sidelight is hinged so it can be opened to allow larger objects to be moved in and out of the building. Saturday’s installation was done by Wilhelm Construction and museum volunteers. A generous grant from the Sandusky County Communities Foundation covered the cost of the door, sidelights and transom.  Installation costs were covered by an anonymous donor.  

Part of Phase I of the Tremont House Project, the Society is working to reclaim and restore the building which anchors our downtown.   The Tremont House is downtown Bellevue’s only building listed on the National Register of Historic Places.

Due to the great support of the strength of steel the Tremont House will stand 100 more years.
Thanks to Thomas Steel for their support in many ways. The knowledge and experience that the company has shown and given to the Bellevue Historical Society for the Tremont House Restoration Project is above and beyond. GREATLY APPRECIATED. Thank You.


In 2002, the Bellevue Historical Society purchased The Tremont House at 101 E. Main Street (formerly Leanard's Pharmacy).  Since then, much work as been done to stabilize and reinforce the building. Much of this work as not been visible to passerby, but the work was necessary.  Eventually, The Tremont House will house the Society's sollection of Bellevue artifacts and memorabilia and be opened as a museum.  During the constraction process, most of these items have been placed in storage.

At last, the Society is proceeding with a big phase of the renovation - the restoration of the facade to it's orginal 1846 appearance.  The second and thrid floor porches will be restored, all windows will be replaced with 6-over-6 paned windows like the originals and, most difficult and eye opening of all, the first floor facade will be restored to it's original configuration.  Permier Construction of Norwalk has been contracted for this work and architect John Feick of Sandusky is doing the drawings needed for necessary approvals.


Bellevue Historical Society's Limited Edition Cat Meow

Bellevue Central High School

This building was used as the Central (Bellevue) High School from 1928 to 1963.  It has been used as the Bellevue Middle School from 1963 to 2012 and was demolished in 2013.

COST:  $17.00 plus tax

Also available to order online and have shipped.



Bellevue Historical Society's Limited Edition Cat Meow
Historical Landmark, Tremont House

Built in 1846 and opened by Loel and Samuel B. Chandler to serve stagecoach traffic on the Maumee Pike (U.S. Route 20).  Briefly a hotel, this landmark has housed grocery and hardware stores, pharmacy and cigar factor.  The third floor ballroom hosted many events as well.  The buildings west side is on the western boundary of the Firelands region of the Connecticut Western Reserve.   Also, this is a fine example of Greek Revival architecture and was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2006.

COST: $20.00

Also available to order online and have shipped.


These Cat Meow Collectibles may also be purchased at these local Bellevue stores:

Hunters Needs, 1831 W Main St, Bellevue, OH 44811


If you have any questions, please call 419-483-0363 or email us.



Event Sponsorship Forms

Get involved with this years 2018 Taste of Tremont Block Party!!!

Below you will find information about sponsorships to this great Bellevue community event !

2018 Taste of Tremont Sponsorship Letter


Sponsorship Levels and Form